Posted by: Larry Hoekman | November 28, 2015

I Peter 3:8-12 — Verbal Abuse!

Day 2238: Have a wonderful Saturday!!!

Scripture:  To sum up, I am to live harmoniously with others and full of compassion towards others.  Also, I should love other Christ followers with a tender heart and humble mind.   I should not repay evil for evil or insult for insult, but I should give a blessing instead, for I was called for this very purpose, so that I might inherit a blessing.  As Psalms states, “If I desire a happy life and to see good days, I must keep my tongue from speaking evil and keep my lips from telling lies.  I must turn away from evil and do good, and work hard at pursuing peace.  For the eyes of the Lord are toward the righteous, and His ears attend to their prayers, but His face is against those who do evil.”   I Peter 3:8-12

Thoughts/questions:  Verbal abuse – we’ve probably all fallen victim to insults that hurt deeply.  I Peter asks us to respond by giving a blessing – not an easy task.  Examples of responding when life brings opposition are found throughout the Bible, and Nehemiah in the Old Testament is an excellent one.  Insults and evil were hurled his way as he tried to obey God and rebuild the walls of Jerusalem.  Skip an hour TV show and read this real life drama!!  It will be time well spent.

Many of these insults come from people very close to us adding to the words’ negative impact.  We can only do so much under our own power, so to get to the point where we can bless after being insulted we need to team together with God. Before we can bless, we have to pray!  If you don’t pray about insults, they will bring evil into your life.  Ask God what practical steps you can take to bring a blessing into the situation!  When we pray and turn away from evil and do good, and work hard at pursuing peace, the results WILL be a blessing to you and the person who may have intended to hurt you!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me to respond to insults by praying and not insulting in return . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

