Posted by: Larry Hoekman | December 1, 2015

I Peter 3:19-22 — Baptism!

Day 2232: Welcome to December – it’s the month that follows January I think . . .

Scripture:  So, Jesus went and preached to the spirits in prison who had been disobedient when God patiently waited in the days of Noah during the construction of the ark.   In it a few people, only eight in all, were brought safely through the water.  This is a picture of baptism by water, which now saves me because of the power of the resurrection of Jesus Christ.  It is not the removal of dirt from my body, but it is my pledge of a good conscience before God.  And now Jesus has gone into heaven and is seated at God’s right hand where angels, authorities, and powers are in submission to Him.  I Peter 3:19-22

Thoughts/questions:  There are some difficult concepts in the first verse, and my 200+ words won’t be able to touch that so let’s take a more practical approach!

Baptism by water – an amazing experience in so many ways.  The flood, accepted here as truth by Peter, brought an end to the world as it was and brought a symbolic new beginning.  Baptism outwardly demonstrates what has happened to us inwardly, as we end our old selfish ways and begin as a new creation in Christ!

By being baptized, we are telling the world that our inner ‘person’ is now spiritually alive – we are saved!  We are not saved ‘because’ of baptism, but ‘because’ of the commitment it represents.  If you haven’t been baptized, I highly recommend it based on scripture and my own experience!

Angels, authorities, and powers are in submission to Him.  They KNOW who Jesus is and place themselves in submission to Him, yet little ole us resist submitting.  If we really knew who Jesus is, would we have this struggle?  What is keeping us from following their lead?  It’s time to fully submit  our lives to Jesus!

Suggested prayer:  Lord Jesus, thank You for giving me a new life!  Help me to let You be the Lord of my life . . .


Responses

  1. I realize that this spiritual discipline is beneficial for you, coach, but it has really been a great uplift, reminder, encouragement, conviction, and much more in my life. Thanks for continuing to lead in my life in more ways than you could possibly know.


Leave a Reply

Categories

