Posted by: Larry Hoekman | December 2, 2015

I Peter 4:1-3 — Same Attitude Jesus Had!

Day 2334: It’s December – still thankful???

Scripture:  Therefore, since Christ suffered in His body, I must arm myself with the same attitude He had, because when I am willing to suffer in my body, I show that I am trying to cease from sin.  As a result, I should no longer live the rest of my life on earth for evil human desires, but rather for the will of God.  I should have had enough of doing the things that godless people enjoy – their immorality and lusts, drunkenness and carousing, and wild parties and terrible idolatry.  I Peter 4:1-3

Thoughts/questions:  The same attitude He had!  Is that merely a dream?  And yet, our attitude CAN become similar to His.  By exchanging our will with His, as in the Lord’s Prayer (Thy will be done), we can arm ourselves with the attitude that will be replete with faith, hope, and love when our circumstances are causing us to suffer.

Much of Christ’s suffering came as a result of the religious institutions of His day.  Many of the people whom God has put in our path have also suffered at the hands of a church or people claiming to be Christians.  Because of this, we are called to be God’s representative to them.  Remember, we are His ‘Customer Service’ reps to bring back to Him those who may have suffered because of our current religious institution. When you know people who have been hurt this way, don’t preach, but love them back to God!!!

It’s easy, yet so hard. The things you KNOW you shouldn’t be doing – STOP.  Seriously analyze what you’re doing, confess your sin, accept His forgiveness, create a plan that includes people (when needed) who can help you, and seek to do God’s will and not live for evil human desires!  With His help, you CAN do it!!!!

Suggested prayer:  Jesus, help me to arm myself with the same attitude that You had . . .

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

