Posted by: Larry Hoekman | December 3, 2015

I Peter 4:4-6 — Spiritually Alive!

Day 2239: It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!!!

Scripture:  My former friends would be very surprised when I no longer join them in the wicked things they do, and they will say evil things about me.  But they will have to give an account to Him who is ready to judge the living and the dead.  For the gospel was preached to me when I was dead, and even though I am to be judged in the flesh as a human being, I live in the spirit according to the will of God.  I Peter 4:4-6

Thoughts/questions:  Spiritually dead or spiritually alive? That is the ultimate question regarding our eternal destiny even though the first two verses in this section appear to indicate that when we get to heaven, we will meet St. Peter to give an account of our behaviors on earth.  Then a decision would be made as to whether or not our lives were good enough to qualify for an eternity in heaven.

Yes, we will be judged; however, not on the basis of an evaluation of our deeds. Until we ask Jesus to be our Lord and Savior, God considers us spiritually dead.  We might be living a great life full of doing good things, but those deeds do not warrant the standard a holy God has – perfection.

We must be made spiritually alive!  When we evaluate our lives or share Jesus with non-believers, it is NOT about being good; it IS about being forgiven and being made spiritually alive!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, thank You for making me spiritually alive!  Help me to share that good news . . . 


Leave a Reply

Categories

