Posted by: Larry Hoekman | December 7, 2015

I Peter 4:15-19 — Entrust My Soul!

Day 2237: His grace to you today! Remember, He opposes the proud and gives grace to the humble! 

Scripture:  I must make sure that if I suffer, it is not be for being a murderer, or thief, or criminal, or as a busybody in other people’s affairs.  However, if I suffer for being a Christ follower, I should not be ashamed.  No, I should praise God that I bear His name.  For the time has come for judgment to begin with the family of God, and if judgment begins with us first, what terrible outcome awaits those who do not obey the gospel of God?  As it is written in Proverbs, “If it is difficult for the righteous to be saved, what will become of the Godless and the sinner?”  So then, if I am suffering according to God’s will, I should continue to do what is right and entrust my soul to my faithful Creator.  I Peter 4:15-19

Thoughts/questions:  Remember, Peter is writing to Christ followers in Asia Minor sharing words of hope to those who were to face intense persecution. Peter writes that there is no excuse for deliberate sinful activities, and that we should always continue to do what is right.  BUT, he also makes it clear that we may suffer, and he doesn’t attempt to hide that in the small print.

We don’t know what the future holds for any of us, but our belief in the living God of the universe MUST prepare us for difficult times and potential persecution.

Like mentally preparing to not overcorrect if you drift while driving, it is far better for us to wrestle with the issue of bad things happening to good people BEFORE being in a difficult situation rather than when you are in the midst of it.  He HAS created us for an eternal purpose, and He IS faithful regardless of the situation we are in!!!  Entrust your life and your soul to HIM!!!

Suggested prayer:  Father God, no matter what happens, I WILL trust You . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

