Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 5, 2016

I Am; 7 in John! — He IS!

Day 2240: Be encouraged each day as you remember that God’s mercies are new EVERY morning not just January 1!

Scripture: God said to Moses, “I am who I am.” And He said, “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.’ Exodus 3:14

Thoughts/questions: For the next seven days God2me will be looking at the 7 I AM’s Jesus spoke about Himself in the gospel of John.

Here is the list: The Bread of Life; The Light of the World: The Gate; The Good Shepherd; The Resurrection and the Life; The Way, the Truth, and the Life; and The Vine.

When God gave Himself a name, the name I AM was perfect! Not created, no beginning, just God capital G. We humans want a beginning, but if there is a God, that God would NOT have a beginning, they would just BE – so I AM is His name!

Jesus could be saying a simple sentence – I am like this or I am like that; however, the Jewish response indicates the true meaning of His use of I am! Always God, always existing, no beginning – just there! The eternal God – the Great I AM!!!

But more than just being there, He IS so much more, and Jesus’ 7 references will expand who our great God is!!! Seven exciting days revealing the character of the Great I AM!!!

Suggested prayer: Lord God Almighty, I can’t comprehend it, but I acknowledge You as the Alpha and Omega, the Great I AM . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

