Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 9, 2016

I AM — The Good Shepherd!

Day 2244: Unless it’s God’s will to discipline us here in California, praying for rain in CA!

Scripture:  “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down His life for the sheep.”   “I am the good shepherd. I know My own and My own know Me.”  John 10:11 and 14

Thoughts/questions: I just finished watching the movie, ‘For Greater Glory’ about Mexico in the 1920’s when the Cristeros waged war against the government of Mexico’s regulations restricting religious freedom. Many were martyred and 90% of Catholic priests were gone. I highly recommend this movie, but you’ll never forget certain parts!

Our leader is the good shepherd who actually did lay down His life for us, His sheep. As followers of this type of shepherd, we may end up joining the millions who have been martyred for their faith in Jesus during the past 100 years.

Although very tough to watch and even more difficult to understand, our Good Shepherd primarily protects and brings safety, but (too often in my opinion) some follow the lead of Jesus and lay down their lives as well.

If we aren’t all asked to be martyrs, we are all asked to lay down our lives. As was asked in the movie – “Who are we if we don’t act on what we believe?” Yep, just who are we if we don’t sacrifice our lives like our Good Shepherd did for us????? Who are we . . .

Suggested prayer: Dear Jesus, may I daily lay down my life for You as You did for me . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

