Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 14, 2016

I AM — The Vine!

Day 2249: My Mom came to our house yesterday and immediately went downhill. Not a good start. Praying for a better day today!

Scripture: I am the true vine, and My Father is the gardener.”  “I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in Me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.” John 15:1, 5

Thoughts/questions: We have tasty berry vines, but were not able to trim them appropriately last winter and our crop suffered greatly. Without a good vine, the berries don’t just grow by themselves!

We also have a few other vines on our property, but if we want berries, we only go to the true berry vine for berries! If we want what Jesus is (see all the previous devotionals re: I AM), we must depend on the true vine!

Apart from Jesus, we can still do a lot as there are many examples of that. BUT, apart from the true vine, Jesus, we can do nothing about our salvation or the perfect calling God has for us. In regards to these – we can do nothing!

Abiding in Jesus allows us to fully experience all He is! The I AM desires us to rest in His great power and His great love! Be still and know that I AM is everything we need!!!

Suggested prayer: Dear Jesus, You are everything to me . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

