Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 24, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 1:8-19

Day 2259: Blessings on your Sunday! 

Proverbs:   I should listen to my father’s instructions and not forsake the teachings of my mother.  Their guidance will enhance my inner self like jewelry brings beauty to one’s physical appearance.  When sin entices me, I must not consent to it.  Bad people might want me to join them in selfish behaviors.  We would rob and kill others while attempting to get as much personal gain as we could.  I would be asked to destroy others and exalt myself at their expense. These supposed partners would tell me that I could share our plunder as equal partners.  I cannot join them!  I must stay far away from people like this whose way of life is filled with sin.  Even a bird will not be trapped when it sees the trap being set.  So, if I knowingly set a trap for my own life, I will not escape it.  My ill-gotten gain would eat away at my life and trap me in my evil deeds.  Proverbs 1:8-19

Thoughts/questions: Listen to your parents – pretty good advice no matter what your stage in life! And remember, soon they’ll be gone . . .

Be careful whom you hang with! It’s hard to soar with eagles when you hang around with turkeys! We rationalize so many things about ourselves, so we MUST be careful not to set a trap for our own life by rationalizing bad choices or evil! Be wise!

Suggested prayer: Lord God, help me not to be selfish, but to serve You and to serve others . . .

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

