Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 3, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 3:21-26

Day 2269:   Hi!  May these important words from Proverbs bless your day!

Scripture:  Sound judgment and discretion are also two things I should never let slip away, for they will serve to adorn my life with safety and my feet will not stumble.  I will be able to sleep soundly without fear of sudden disaster or the storms that overtake the wicked.  This is all because my confidence is in the Lord.  He will keep me from falling!  Proverbs 3:21-26

Thoughts/questions: As a parent of teens, I could have been able to sleep soundly without fear if I had complete confidence in the living God of the universe and really believed His promises were true.

If I believed that God truly LOVES  me; that He has PRE-PLANNED my life; that His plans are for my WELFARE; that ALL the events in my life work together for my good; that the difficult times help me GROW strong in my faith; that God will use ALL of the trials I go through so that I will eventually bring comfort to someone else in need; that He has a purpose for EVERYTHING that happens to me; and that my time on earth is temporary and my REAL home is heaven, THEN I would have been able to sleep soundly.

If the above is true, then it is therefore IMPOSSIBLE for there ever to be a ‘sudden’ disaster  in my life.   Storms that overtake the wicked will come, but as the representative God in the book ‘The Shack‘ shares regarding major ‘storms’ in our lives – IF YOU REALLY KNEW ME, YOU WOULDN’T THINK LIKE YOU DO!

Suggested prayer: Lord God, help me to really know You and really trust You . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

