Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 4, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 4:1-6

Day 2270:  This journey through Proverbs may be a bit long, but well worth it!!!

Scripture:  Wisdom speaks like a Father instructing his son.  I also need to pay attention, so that I may gain understanding.  I should not turn away from the truth of these words.  Wisdom built itself up by being like a good son who was tenderly loved by his Mother.  As a wise teacher, wisdom instructs me to always hold it fast, and to follow its commandments for a long and happy life.  I need to acquire wisdom; get understanding; and never turn away from either of them.  If I cling to them, they will protect me.  If I love them, they will guard over me.  Proverbs 4:1-6

Thoughts/questions:  How many times haven’t we said/heard something like this – they just don’t ‘get it.’ As a parent/coach/teacher, there have been so many times when I have tried to get someone to do something and they heard everything I said, but the result wasn’t what I desired because they didn’t ‘get it’ – very frustrating.

However, when a child/student/athlete understands and says, ‘now I get it’ – the light goes on and it’s all good. God is like that with us. His word in Proverbs tells us to gain understanding, but are we hearing one thing and then doing something else?

You are reading these Proverbs and devotions and I’m writing them, BUT are we gaining understanding and the resulting long and happy life, protection, and being guarded by wisdom?  Let’s all resolve to ‘get it’ and acquire a wisdom and understanding that are demonstrated in everything we do!

Suggested prayer: Lord Almighty, help me to not only get it, but to live it as well . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

