Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 5, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 4:7-13

Day 2271:  My Mom’s doing a bit better. Back to independent living next week, but moving here by my sister and me.

Scripture: The first step I must take is determining to acquire wisdom and obtain sound judgment.  If I prize and honor wisdom, it will exalt and embrace me, and will place a beautiful crown of grace upon my head.  When I choose to accept wisdom’s teachings, the years of my life will be many.  As I live a life of doing the right thing, I will not stumble or fall.  I must take hold of these instructions and guard them well, as they are my life.  Proverbs 4:7-13 

Thoughts/questions:  Active commitment is so important and Proverbs tells us that if we are serious about gaining wisdom, we must make a determination/commitment to strive to do just that.  The Bible is full of words like ‘make every effort’ or ‘strive’.

I am convicted to raise the bar regarding my level of complacency regarding my relationship with God and to start ‘making every effort’ instead of being on cruise control.  With God, each day is always a good time to recommit ourselves to make every effort to achieve God’s standard for us.

We should always live a life of doing the right thing! My quote of ‘the right thing to do is the right thing to do no matter what happens’ guides me in this process. Do the right thing!!!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, I really want to do the right thing – help me . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

