Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 6, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 4:14-19

Day 2272: Headed off to a missions trip today! Excited to be part of a local food outreach!

Scripture:  I should not even set my foot on the path of evil much less walk in wickedness.  I must avoid it and go somewhere else as evil men don’t even seem to be able to sleep unless they do evil or cause someone to stumble and fall.  They eat the bread of wickedness and drink the wine of violence.  But when I am walking on the path of right living, it is like the soft light of dawn that grows brighter until the full light of day comes!  In contrast, if I were to walk in the way of the wicked, I would be in the dark and not even know what made me stumble.  Proverbs 4:14-19

Thoughts/questions:  When tempted (which is NOT a sin), we must not take a step in that direction. If we take that first step, we move away from the full light of day and are in the dark. Recently I heard a man comment about making bad choices, ‘why did I ever do that?’ I’ve been there too – what ever made me do it?

I rationalized when I made the choice, but afterwards I couldn’t even say why I did it.  Darkness did not allow wisdom’s (God’s) light to shine on my decision-making process. When a temptation enters your mind  (I call that, ‘spot the thought’) – don’t dwell on it! That is the time to avoid it and go somewhere else!

Seek to avoid the ‘path of evil.’

Suggested prayer: Father, when my thoughts go towards evil, help me to stop right there and not move one foot in that direction . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

