Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 7, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 4:20-27

Day 2273: Have a super Sunday, and because of Jesus, not the Super Bowl!!!

Scripture:  I must listen carefully to wisdom’s teachings.  I must never lose sight of them and need to let them penetrate deeply in my heart.  They are real life to me when I find them, and they bring health to my whole body.  Above all else, I must guard my heart, for it influences every aspect of my life.  Perversity and deceit should not be any part of my speech.  My eyes should look straight ahead, and I should fix my gaze directly before me.  My way will be established when I watch my step; keep from being sidetracked; and keep my foot from evil.   Proverbs 4:20-27

Thoughts/questions:  The word heart is used twice in this section of Proverbs as we are told to take wisdom’s teachings deeply into it and to guard our heart.  God’s view of the human heart is contrary to our society’s.  Our society tells us to ‘follow our heart’; however, God states that the heart, while home to our inner being, is desperately wicked.  Only God can transform our heart and Proverbs says that this can begin to happen though deeply taking His words into our innermost being – mentally and emotionally – so that they permeate our entire lives.

We also are to guard this heart, as it can lead us astray when not fully committed to God. By guarding our hearts, we use the wisdom God gives us to transform our hearts and make decisions based on good judgment!

Horses have physical blinders to keep them from seeing anything that might spook them and to keep them focused on the task at hand.  Wisdom provides spiritual blinders to keep us on the right path (and to keep us from being ‘spooked’ by all the wickedness in the world).  To the right and to the left worldly pleasures seek our attention, but this last phrase reminds us to keep that foot from taking even one step off the straight and narrow path.

Check the condition of your heart – how’s it doing?

Suggested prayer:  Father God, help me find the path You desire for me . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

