Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 11, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 6:1-5

Day 2277: I’m finishing a week of food preparation for hundreds of thousands hungry people! Speaking to my fellow workers tonight, so please pray for wisdom!

Scripture:  If I co-sign a loan with a friend or shake hands on a deal with a stranger, and that results in my being trapped by the words of my mouth and caught by what I said, then this is what I must do to get out of it!  Because I have put myself in a situation where I am at someone else’s mercy, I must humble myself and beg my neighbor to let me get out of it.  I need to go to them immediately and not rest until I’ve taken care of it.  I have to struggle to get free of my obligation like a deer trying to escape a hunter or a bird working to escape from a net. Proverbs 6:1-5

Thoughts/questions:  Before we engage in something, especially one that involves money, Jesus taught that we should count the cost before making any decision because our yes MUST mean yes!   So, if we shook hands, signed the contract, things went south, NOW what? Do we pull out the ‘God card’ and say God told us to get out of our commitment?

I believe we should be EXTREMELY careful in all financial dealings.  But if we get stuck no matter how much we want to escape, the true ‘God card’ is to 1) become wiser; 2) avoid any further ‘deals’; 3) STAY on the straight path we committed ourselves to; and 4) trust God to take care of any ensuing financial issues.

Suggested prayer:  Almighty God, help me to be wise in all of my financial dealings and to be a person of my word . . .  


Leave a Reply

Categories

