Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 12, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 6:6-11

Day 2278:  May we always see our lives through the lens of Almighty God!

Scripture: When I am lazy, I should consider the ways of the ant and become wise.  It doesn’t have a ruler, boss, or commander, yet it stores up provisions in the summer and gathers its food at harvest.  How long will I sleep before I become a sluggard?  When will I wake up?  For a little sleep; a little slumber; a little folding of the hands to rest – and poverty will pounce upon me like a bandit, and scarcity like an armed robber.  Proverbs 6:6-11

Thoughts/questions:  Consider the ways of the ant – spiritually speaking, how long will I sleep before I become a sluggard Are we being lazy, sleeping through God’s call on our life?  Do we slumber instead of actively seeking Him?  Do we even know the role He has for us?

We should have spiritual goals, and I don’t believe anyone’s list would include becoming a spiritual sluggard! Yet I find myself headed in that direction too many times. How about you? Are you drawing close to Jesus, or is your day too filled with the urgent? Is sluggardsville soon to be your destination?

Consider the ant and become wise! Seek first the kingdom of God . . .

Suggested prayer:  Dear Lord, You’ve given me so much. May I never fold my hands and rest, but fold my hands and pray . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

