Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 14, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 6:20-26

Day 2280: Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

Scripture:  I am to keep my father’s commands and not forsake the teachings of my mother.  Their words should always be kept in my heart, and I should tie them around my neck.  If I do that, they will guide me wherever I go.  They will protect me when I sleep, and talk with me when I wake-up.  For these commands are like a lamp, and these teachings are like a light.  The corrections of discipline are the way to life.  They also keep me from the immoral woman and from the smooth tongue of the adulteress.  I should not lust in my heart after her beauty or let her eyes captivate me.  For a prostitute reduces me to a loaf of bread, and being with an adulteress could cost me my very life.   Proverbs 6:20-26

Thoughts/questions:  Real personal discipline means forcing ourselves to do the right thing even if the consequences are barely quantifiable or they may never even be known.  Here, the corrections of discipline happen much more slowly and without us possibly even knowing it.

Having a lack of discipline in our daily quiet time with God, cutting corners when we know we shouldn’t, ignoring needs of others because it’s not convenient – this lack of discipline will slowly erode our wisdom, our joy, our impact, our peace – carefully consider whether on not these qualities are being reflected in your life.  If they aren’t, exercise discipline!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me to be disciplined in my life, and when I am not, please gently give me the corrections of Your discipline . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

