Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 19, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 8:1-11

Day 2285: TGIF – Thank God I’m Forgiven!

Scripture:  Wisdom calls out to me, and understanding lifts up her voice.  She stands on high places along my path and takes her stand.  Beside the gates and entrances to the city she cries out, “I call out to all of mankind.  I raise my voice to all people.  O naïve ones, value discretion; O foolish ones, gain understanding.  Listen, for I will speak of excellent things.  Everything I say is right.  For my mouth speaks what is truth, as my lips detest wickedness.  All of the words of my mouth are good; there is nothing crooked or perverted in them.  My words are straightforward to those who understand and right to those who find knowledge.  Choose my instructions instead of silver, and knowledge rather than the choicest gold.  For wisdom is more precious than rubies; none of your desires compare to her.”  Proverbs 8:1-11

Thoughts/questions: Probably for all of us, our nurture as we grew up fed us with lies regarding life and self. Some little, some HUGE! These lies must not only be eliminated, they must be replaced with truth!

Fathers imparted lies to their little girls about their value and worth; friends added lies emphasizing weaknesses we might have had; society continually proclaims lies about what will ‘make’ our lives complete; and the list goes on.

Christ followers are to capture every thought and make it obey Christ. We MUST replace the lie with the truth and not give our obedience to ‘the liar.’ Identify a lie you may have believed in your past, give it to Jesus, and REPLACE it with the truth! Write that truth down and every time the lie surfaces in your thoughts, attack it with God’s truth! You will gain victory!!!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, I must always consider Your truth which will set me free from myself . . .

Responses

  1. I love the concept of capturing every thought and “making it obey Christ.” It’s interesting how even as believers our minds/flesh are so against us that we have to continually control our thoughts and discipline them unto Him. Thank you for putting it this way; it makes things a lot clearer for me. Thanks for this post!!

    • We often tend to be more accepting of the lie than the truth . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

