Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 20, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 8:12-21

Day 2286:  His blessings on you as we go through Proverbs and Wisdom continues to speak.

Scripture:  “I, Wisdom, dwell together with good sense, and I determine knowledge and discretion.  All who fear the Lord will hate evil, as I hate pride, arrogance, evil behavior, and perverted speech.  Counsel and sound judgment are mine.  Insight and strength belong to me.  By me, kings reign and rulers make laws that are just.  Governments lead with my help, and nobles make righteous judgments.  I love those who love me.  Those who diligently seek me will find me.  With me are riches and honor, enduring wealth and prosperity.  My fruit is better than fine gold, and my wages better than the choicest silver.  I walk in the way of righteousness, along paths of justice, bestowing wealth on those who love me by filling their treasuries.   Proverbs 8:12-21

Thoughts/questions:  If most of us were completely honest, I think we would like this – ‘God has control of everything, but I am His chief consultant and He allows me to make all the decisions regarding things that impact me!!!’

But we aren’t His consultants and often life seems out of control. His values and ways are definitely different than ours and hence the problem.  After all, when is the last time you saw someone on TV trying to convince you to purchase wisdom like we see regarding advertisements for gold and jewelry???  Yet He tells us wisdom is more valuable than gold.

CAN we feel and ‘know’ that He is REALLY in control in everything?  Can we say with Job, ‘The Lord gives and the Lord takes away, blessed be the name of the Lord?’

Suggested prayer:  Lord, even when things seem out of control, still I will trust You . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

