Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 21, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 8:22-31

Day 2287: Another Sunday reminder to celebrate our Lord’s resurrection even if it’s not yet Easter!   

Scripture:   “The Lord brought me (wisdom) forth as the first of His works, before He created anything else.  From everlasting I was established; at the first, before the earth began.  I was born before the oceans were created; before springs abounded with water; before the mountains and the hills were formed; and before He made the earth, its fields, or its dust.  I was there when He established the heavens; when He marked the horizon on the face of the deep; when He set the clouds above; when the springs of the earth became fixed; when He set the boundary for the oceans so that the water would not exceed the limits He set for them; and when He marked off the earth’s foundations.  Then, I was the craftsman at His side.  I was His continuous pleasure, and I rejoiced always in His presence.  I rejoiced in His creation of earth, and I delighted in His creation of mankind.”  Proverbs 8:22-31

Thoughts/questions:  Can we get callous to the things of God?  I’m afraid that many of us have experienced what I call “Christian inoculation.” – having a weakened form of God and not catching the ‘real’ thing.

One possibly inoculated area is our response to our Creator. A reread of today’s verses reminds us how truly awesome God’s ability to create is! Does His creation compel us to worship Him in awe and amazement, or are we inoculated from Him and ALL He’s done?  Stop; consider the work of His hands; stand in AWE of Him (or maybe bow down)!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me catch the ‘real’ thing . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

