Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 21, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 9:1-9

Day 2288: Today’s Proverbs have given me as much help as any other wisdom from Proverbs!!!

Scripture:  Wisdom has built her house with seven pillars.  She has prepared her food; mixed her wine; and set her table.  She has sent out her maids and she calls from the highest point of the city, “Let all who are naïve come in here.”  To those who lack understanding she says, “Come, eat my food and drink of the wine I have mixed. Leave your foolish ways behind and live in the way of understanding.” When I correct a mocker, I will be dishonored, and when I reprove a wicked man, I will be insulted.  I should not rebuke scoffers, as they will hate me for it.  However, when I correct a wise man, he will love me for it!  When I give instruction to a wise man, he will be wiser still.  When I teach the righteous, they will learn even more!  Proverbs 9:1-9

Thoughts/questions:  Most of us try to avoid times of reproof/correction, but there are times that we must interact with someone about a problem area.

First, let’s try to avoid it when not necessary. But when we face an important issue, we are to consider wisely WHOM we are talking to.  If the encounter is with someone who values wisdom, they will appreciate our efforts (done in love) and both will be the better for it.

HOWEVER, if it is someone with a negative attitude (mocker/wicked man/scoffer), we should do our very best never to engage them. The wisest comments spoken with their best interests in mind will NOT be received, and they will turn things back on us!  Proverbs warns us to never correct a fool – things won’t turn out well!!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me to learn when to remain silent and when to correct . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

