Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 23, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 9:10-18

Day 2289:  After today, Proverbs shifts to the more famous tidbits of wisdom.

Scripture: When I fear the Lord, I am on the road that leads to wisdom.  My increasing knowledge of the Holy One results in my further understanding.  By wisdom my days shall be multiplied and the years of my life will increase.  When I am wise, I am the one who benefits.  But if I scorn wisdom, I will be the one to suffer.  The woman of folly is boisterous; simple; and knows nothing.  She sits in her doorway on a seat overlooking the city, calling out to me even when I am simply minding my own business, “Turn here to me you who are naïve.”  And when I am lacking understanding she says, “Stolen water is sweet, and bread eaten in secret tastes the best!”  I must realize, unlike some, that death is with her, and her former guests are now in the grave.  Proverbs 9:10-18

Thoughts/questions: Interestingly, the ‘woman of folly’ sits in the same high place as Wisdom did in yesterday’s devotion as both call out to us.  Whereas the woman of folly’s temptations are sensual and short term leading to death, Wisdom’s call is long term and spiritual leading to life!  Both are calling simultaneously, but one entices our natural desires and emotions, while the other requires us to fear the Lord, which takes a commitment of our will.

Jesus said we will ‘reap what we sow’ – and these Proverbs say the same thing!  If we sow selfishly, we will reap selfish behavior from others.  If we sow short term sensually dominated decisions, we will reap death.  If we sow fearing the Lord and increasing the knowledge of the Holy One, we will reap life!  Temptations are always there and will call out to us when we least expect it – Proverbs continual sexual warnings MUST be heeded!

Suggested prayer:  Lord if I haven’t got it before, help me to get it now . . . 


Leave a Reply

Categories

