Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 24, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 10:1-6

Day 2290:  Now the application of wisdom begins with phrase after phrase of practical wisdom.

Scripture: These are the Proverbs of Solomon:  A wise son brings a father joy, but a foolish son is grief to his mother.  Ill-gotten gain is of no real value to me, but righteous living can save my life.   When I am godly, the Lord will not let me starve to death, but He rejects the cravings of the wicked.  My laziness will result in me being poor, but diligent work brings wealth.  I am acting wisely when I gather crops in the summer, but I bring shame upon myself if I sleep during harvest.  Right living showers my life with blessings, but the mouth of the wicked conceals violence. Proverbs 10:1-6

Thoughts/questions:  Proverbs makes it clear that God knows how males and females respond differently.  Males are often action oriented and the good activities of a wise son brings a father joy; however, mothers are more in tune with the emotional well-being of their children, and the foolish son is grief to his mother.  A mother’s grief from a wayward child has no equal. Always pray for a foolish child as it may take awhile, but God will continue to work in their life!

Showers of blessings – As a refreshing shower gently and completely immerses our entire physical body in water, God’s blessings are not so small that we don’t even notice nor do they knock us over.  No, His blessings soothingly and continuously shower us.  Stop, recognize His blessings, and be refreshed!

Suggested prayer:  Father God, I am truly thankful for every blessing You have given me.  Help me to never take them for granted . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

