Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 26, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 10:13-18

Day 2292:  Money and our Mouths today!

Scripture:  My lips speak wisely when I am discerning, but a rod is for the back of one who lacks understanding.  Storing up knowledge causes me to become wise, but ruin is mine if I speak foolishly.  The rich man’s wealth is his fortress; the destruction of the poor is his poverty.  When I am godly, my earnings enhance my life, but the income of the wicked brings them punishment.  When I listen to instruction, I am on the pathway to life, but by ignoring instruction, I lead others astray.  I am lying by concealing my hatred, and whoever spreads slander is a fool.  Proverbs 10:13-18

Thoughts/questions:  A lying fool – now that’s a legacy we might want to avoid!  The 18th verse declares that our sinful nature experiences hatred, and we’re lying if we try to act like we don’t.  We’ve all heard someone say, “God, I hate that” and those words can be spoken, BUT not to people nor in anger. Yes, most of us do have these feelings of hate, but let us never speak those slanderous words towards anyone or anything!!

Also, money is NOT evil; it is merely a means of exchange.  The LOVE of money causes much evil.  God is the true source of our money and other provisions, and we are to be good stewards of them all.  Our money can enhance our lives and provide us financial security, or it can bring punishment upon us if we do not use it appropriately.

Our money and our mouths – two powerful forces that God requires us to be good stewards of every day.

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me to speak encouraging words and to use Your financial gifts to enhance my life by helping others . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

