Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 28, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 11:1-7

Day 2294:  Lord, bless our Sunday and give us Your rest!

Scripture: The Lord hates a false balance, but He delights in my using a just weight.  My pride leads to dishonor, but humility brings me wisdom.  When I am righteous, my integrity will guide me, but the crookedness of the treacherous will destroy them.  My wealth is worthless in the day of wrath, but my righteousness delivers me from death. My blameless righteousness smoothes my way, but the wicked will fall by their own wickedness. When a wicked man dies, his hope perishes; all he expected from his power comes to nothing.   Proverbs 11:1-7

Thoughts/questions:  It is said that for life to be fair, there would have to be only one person on earth!  Since that is not going to happen, life won’t ever be fair, but God wants us to be fair and honest in ALL of our dealings.

Our integrity is certainly the focal point of these verses as the words righteousness, just weight, and integrity are used throughout them. For example, being completely fair/honest about taxes can be problematic for some.  Bur is my God so small that I have to resort to fudging on my taxes??  My integrity should guide me!

Twice in these verses are references to the eternal.  Wealth and power, so impressive from an earthly perspective, do not provide any hope in respect to eternity.  A saying I had in my bedroom as a child explains this well,  ‘Only one life, twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.’

How’s your integrity?  How about your eternal perspective?  Tough questions – important answers!

Suggested prayer:  Father God, give me the wisdom to live each day honestly and with eternity in mind . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

