Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 29, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 11:8-13

Day 2295:  We are so blessed! God help us to recognize it!

Scripture:  My righteousness helps deliver me from trouble, which comes on the wicked instead.  With his mouth the godless man destroys his neighbor, but my knowledge will deliver me.  When things go well with the righteous, the city rejoices; when the wicked perish, there are shouts of joy.  An entire city can be blessed by my uprightness, but the mouth of the wicked destroys it.  If I lack judgment, I might deride my neighbor, but if I have understanding, I remain silent.  A gossip reveals secrets, but as a trustworthy person, I can keep a confidence.  Proverbs 11:8-13

Thoughts/questions:  This Proverbs stuff really works! I trust you are finding ways to apply its wisdom. These verses emphasizing neighbors really helped me use wisdom to defuse  a potentially problematic issue with my neighbor a few years back. Since then, his wife has been baptized and our relationship is great! Thank God for the wisdom in Proverbs!!!

Are you a trustworthy person who can keep a confidence? Gossip is right up there in God’s top list of sins as its impact destroys our vertical relationship as well as many horizontal ones. How many confidences do you think have been violated during ‘prayer requests’?

Apply His word, be trustworthy with information, continue to be upright!

Suggested prayer:  Father, thank You for helping me . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

