Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 2, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 11:20-25

Day 2297: Pray for Christ followers being persecuted today!  

Scripture. Those who are perverse in heart are an abomination to the Lord, but He delights in me when I walk in uprightness.  Be sure of this:  the wicked will not go unpunished, but my righteous living results in my children being delivered.  Like a gold ring in a pig’s snout, so is a beautiful woman who lacks discretion.  The desire of the righteous ends only in good, while the wicked can expect only wrath.  By giving freely, I can still gain even more; but if I withhold what is justly due, poverty awaits.  By being generous, I will prosper; by refreshing others, I will be refreshed.   Proverbs 11:20-25

Thoughts/questions:  God delights in me!!!  Wow, the living God of the universe notices and takes pleasure in me.  A long time ago, I remember watching my daughter playing at our church nursery.  There were probably about 20 kids playing, but I only saw one – my child!  And I felt joy watching her having fun and playing nicely.  Our heavenly Father is like that.  His eyes are on His children and our upright behavior brings Him joy.  What a privilege to bless Him and be blessed by Him!!!

Giving freely; being generous; refreshing others – THE way to truly ‘have possession of’ our time and money.  Yes, by law we own our 24 hours and all of our assets, yet we are not to hold onto them with a clenched fist, but with an open palm.  That way God can fill our open hand with more when He so chooses!!!  If we lose it all, our hand is still open for God’s continual blessings – so unclench that fist!!!

Suggested prayer:  Living Father, I am humbled that You delight in me!!  Help me to give as You have given me . . . 


Leave a Reply

Categories

