Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 2, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 11:26-31

Day 2298: What a truly awesome creator our God is!!! 

Scripture:  People curse the one who withholds grain, but blessing is on the head of the one who sells it.  When I diligently search for good, I will find favor; but if I seek out evil, it will find me.  Those who trust in their wealth will fall, but my righteous living results in me flourishing like spring leaves.  If I bring trouble on my family, I will inherit only the wind; the fool will be a servant to the wise.  The fruit of my righteous living is a tree of life, and it is wise for me to win souls.  If the righteous are rewarded on the earth, how much more true that the ungodly and the sinner get what they deserve.    Proverbs 11:26-31

Thoughts/questions:  If I bring trouble on my family . . . as I’ve put together the grand parenting seminar, my conclusion has been that our family is God’s #1 mission for us, yet we often have more trouble there than in our other relationships. This should not be so! Seek forgiveness; be honest as it does take ‘two to tango;’ and may your family be your best relationships, not your worst!

Three quick thoughts – Wealth is not the problem, as long as we don’t put our trust in our money; riches fade, so our trust must be in the Lord!   The source of life for spring leaves is their unseen roots – by daily seeking God, we stay rooted in Him!  Rewards – sometimes our rewards lie silently in the opinions others have of us – if you were to magically become aware of those thoughts, what would your rewards be like?

Suggested prayer:  Lord, You have so much wisdom for me.  Help me to daily learn Your ways . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

