Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 4, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 12:1-7

Day 2299: So excited that my N Korea trip has resulted in a huge opportunity!!! Praise God! If you know any high quality Christian basketball players wanting to play in N Korea this coming July, let me know!

Scripture: By loving discipline, I show that I love knowledge, as hating correction is stupid.   As a good person, I will obtain favor from the Lord, but He will condemn those who plan wickedness.  People cannot be established by wickedness, but when I am godly, my roots will not be moved.  An excellent wife is her husband’s joy and crown, but a disgraceful wife is like rottenness to his bones.  As a godly person, my plans are just, but the counsels of the wicked are deceitful.  The words of the wicked are like a murderous ambush, but my words can deliver them.  The wicked are overthrown and are gone, but as a righteous person, my house will stand!  Proverbs 12:1-7

Thoughts/questions:  Loving discipline! Sorry, I haven’t quite gotten to this point yet! But self discipline is best. I would have loved to have known and used this quote as a parent, teacher, and coach – it is by former UCLA coach, John Wooden, “Discipline yourself so no one else has to.” I definitely will use this with my Gkids, and I think God speaks that to me once in awhile as well!

We must always be careful regarding the attraction of seeing life through the world’s eyes and receiving input from the world’s (wicked) value systems.  His ways and values are different! And the deceitful worldly perspective entices, but must be resisted as that perspective really will ambush our relationship with the Lord.  Be on the alert!

Suggested prayer:  Father, thank You that You care enough about me to discipline me.  Help me to live in such a way that I don’t need it . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

