Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 5, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 12:8-14

Day 2300:  2300 days, them’s a lot . . .

Scripture:  I will be praised because of my wisdom and good sense, but a warped mind is despised.  It is better for me to be a nobody with a servant than to be self-important yet lack bread.  As a godly person, I must care for the needs of my animals, but even the kindest acts of the wicked are cruel.  By working hard, I will have plenty of food, but those who pursue worthless things lack judgment.  The wicked desire the ill-gotten gains of evil men, but it is my roots that are flourishing.  The wicked are trapped by their own words, but by being just, I will be delivered from trouble.  The fruit of my words is a life filled with good, just as the work of my hands will reward me.   Proverbs 12:8-14

Thoughts/questions:   People talk about people and probably way too much. Proverbs tells us that by using wisdom and good sense (which sometimes means NOT speaking at all) we will generate their spoken admiration.  And God’s value system is so very different – the first shall be last/a nobody is a somebody. Let God lift us up without any help/interference on our part!

Kind words spoken by self-absorbed people can mislead us.  I believe that it is far better to be unintentionally hurt by the words/actions of someone who truly cares for you than have kind words or good deeds done by someone acting out of their own personal interest.  Don’t be mislead!  That kindness has a cruel side as when they no longer see you as someone making their life better – watch out!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me to pay more attention to the truly important things/people in my life . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

