Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 8, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 13:1-7

Day 2303: May the Lord’s face shine on you today!  

Scripture:   I am acting wisely when I accept my parents’ discipline, but a mocker does not listen to rebuke.  From the fruit of my mouth I enjoy good, but the desire of the treacherous is violence.  By controlling my tongue, I preserve my life, but if I speak rashly, I will come to ruin.  The soul of a sluggard craves everything and gets nothing, but when my soul is diligent, I shall be fully satisfied.  When I am godly, I will hate lies; but the wicked are loathsome and come to shame.  When I walk in integrity, righteousness will guard me, while wickedness overthrows the sinner.  Some people seem to be rich, but have nothing; others appear to be poor, yet have great wealth.  Proverbs 13:1-7

Thoughts/questions:   These verses speak of discipline, control, diligence, and integrity – all aspects of one who has mastered the art of self-discipline.  To make sure we choose right over selfish desires, long term over short term, and His ways over ours, we need the help of others and God.  Do you currently need some help in making correct choices for yourself or your family?  If so, seek the Lord’s help in prayer, and seek out a friend or two to share your concerns with and enlist their help in your struggle!

Great wealth is ours to be had when we recognize what true riches are: Rich – having family, friends, God, wisdom, self-discipline; fruit of the Spirit! Poor – the lack of these no matter how much money one might have.  Seek a full measure of the wealth God desires for you!

Suggested prayer: Almighty Father, help me in my struggle to discipline myself to do what I know is right . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

