Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 10, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 13:14-19

Day 2305:  What a privilege it is for me to be a small part of your spiritual walk!  Soak up His wisdom today. 

Scripture:  By teaching with wisdom, my words are a fountain of life, which can help others avoid the snares of death.  By living a life of understanding I will find favor, but the way of the treacherous is hard.  Being prudent causes me to think before I act, but fools regularly demonstrate their folly.  A wicked messenger falls into adversity, but as a reliable messenger, I can bring healing.  By ignoring criticism, I will end up in poverty and shame, but when I accept criticism, I will be honored.  When my desires are realized, it is sweet to my soul, but fools detest turning away from evil.   Proverbs 13:14-19

Thoughts/questions:  When my desires are realized! What fun and/or accomplishment to achieve one’s dreams or desires. And when our desires are the same as God’s (He does give us the desires of our heart according to Psalms!), then we are doubly blessed. Self and God become one; His ways become ours; our heart is His heart! Perfection!

Regularly demonstrate their folly – now this is a different story than the above! How can we avoid this? By being prudent! Prudent – defined as ‘acting with or showing care and thought for the future.’ Not short term foolish thinking, but making decisions which will reap long term benefits – on earth and in heaven!!! Be prudent!

Suggested prayer: Lord God, You’ve placed certain desires in my heart. May I seek to realize all the desires You have for me . . . 


Leave a Reply

Categories

