Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 11, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 13:20-25

Day 2306:  More wisdom from Proverbs!

Scripture:  By walking with the wise, I will become wise, but companions of fools suffer harm.  Adversity pursues sinners, but blessing will reward my righteous living.  By living a godly life, I will be able to leave an inheritance to my grandchildren, yet the wealth of a sinner is stored up for the righteous.  A poor person’s field may produce abundant food, but injustice sweeps it all away. If I refuse to discipline my children, it is as if I hate them; but because I love my children, I will diligently discipline them!  As a godly person, I will be able to eat to my heart’s content, but the stomach of the wicked goes hungry.   Proverbs 13:20-25

Thoughts/questions: Parents, someone (I can’t find out who) stated that the worst thing we can do to our children is NOT letting them experience the natural consequences of their actions. We jump in and ‘rescue’ them! Not good! Those ‘natural’ consequences just might be the very best form of discipline required, and we don’t have to be the one who disciplines! Make sure you discipline your kids! That’s a definite form of parental love!

Companions of fools suffer harm reminds me of the quote – ‘it’s hard to soar with eagles when you’re surrounded by turkeys!’  I had a nephew who completed 16 months w/Teen Challenge fighting his addiction only to return to his old friends (companion of fools) and re-entered the drug world resulting in his death in his early thirties – a very sad example of the truth of this verse.  If you know that you spend too much time with certain people who draw you away from God’s wisdom, STOP before harm befalls you!

Suggested prayer:  Father, keep me from being a companion of fools and help my actions to show that I truly love my children . . . 


Leave a Reply

Categories

