Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 12, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 14:1-6

Day 2307: Sadly, today I’m attending a funeral of a high school classmate and wife of my best man. Thankfully, heaven awaits!

Scripture:  A wise woman builds her house, but the foolish tear it down with her own hands.  By walking down the right path, I show that I fear the Lord, but those who are devious in their ways despise Him.  Speaking foolish words brings a rod to one’s back, but when my words are wise, they keep me from trouble.  If I don’t own an ox, my barn will be clean, but the strength of the ox brings much increase.  As a truthful witness, I must not lie, but a false witness pours out lies.  The mocker seeks wisdom and never finds it, but knowledge will come easily to me when I am discerning.  Proverbs 14:1-6

Thoughts/questions:  Where do wise words come from?  Because life definitely ‘stirs us up’ and what fills our inner being is expressed during those times. By filling our thoughts with God’s word and replacing our opinions with His (dead to self and alive to God), THEN our words will grow wiser and the carnage of our words will decrease!

The ox verse!!!  One of my favorites!  Everything has a down side, so when we do anything, our barn will have a little bit of crap in it.  Solution?  We could do nothing and keep it clean, OR we could realize that life is difficult, bad things do happen, every good has a little bit of bad, and some ‘crap’ happens even when the ox is bringing in the income!  The rewards are worth it, so get that ox in the barn, and don’t worry about some of the smells along the way!

Suggested prayer:  Dear Lord, help me transform my inner being so that the words of my mouth reflect Your wisdom . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

