Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 17, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 14:30-35

Day 2312:  Be Thankful!

Scripture:  When my heart is at peace, it brings life to my body, but envy is rottenness to my bones.  If I oppress the poor, I insult their Maker, but by helping them I honor Him.  The wicked are thrust down by their wrongdoings, but as a godly person I have a refuge even when I die.  Wisdom rests in the heart of those who have understanding, but that which is in the hearts of fools is made known.  Righteousness exalts a nation, but sin is a disgrace to any people.  The king gives favor towards a wise servant, but his anger is towards those who act shamefully.  Proverbs 14:30-35

Thoughts/questions:  One of the specific things Jesus gave us was peace.  In Luke 14:27 Jesus states, “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you!”  By accepting Jesus free gift of peace and not continually struggling and worrying, we receive a spiritual and physical blessing – rest to our spirit and life to our body. Stop, take a breath and when you take in the second breath, breathe in Jesus’ gift of peace!

God is very concerned about how we treat the poor.  Why?  He knows that humankind values wealth, and we are naturally drawn to the rich and famous.  But to be concerned about the welfare of the needy who have nothing to offer us means that we are operating outside of our own selfish interests and are looking at others from His perspective.  It honors Him when our worldview and value system mirrors His.  How are you doing in this area?

Suggested prayer:  Jesus, help me receive Your gift of peace, and help me to always help those in need . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

