Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 20, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 15:14-20

Day 2314:  Be still and know that I am God! Yes, be still!!!

Scripture:  Because I desire to be wise, I seek knowledge, while the mouth of fools feeds on folly.  All the days of the afflicted are bad, but when I have a cheerful heart, my life is a continual feast.  It is better for me to fear the Lord and have only a little, than to have great treasure and live a life of turmoil.  Also, it is better for me to live where there is love and only have vegetables to eat, than to have plenty of meat served with hatred.  A hot-tempered person stirs up strife, but when I am slow to anger, I can bring calm into a dispute.  The path of the lazy is as a hedge of thorns, but when I am righteous, my path is like a highway.  My father is glad when I live wisely, but children who live foolishly despise their mother.   Proverbs 15:14-20

Thoughts/questions:  Children (most anyway) would not actually ‘say’ that they despise their mothers, but their foolish actions bring their mothers such pain and despair that God calls it straight – they are despising them.  If you know any young person who is behaving like that, you may want to alert them to truth of this verse.

God’s value system is revisited – to love and be loved on the horizontal plane and to have a healthy fear/respect for the Lord vertically are FAR more important than a healthy stock portfolio or regular dinners at the most expensive of restaurants.  And when change is happening ALL around us, we can always love others and trust the Lord!  This can give us a confident assurance and security regarding anything the future might bring!!!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me to love others and to fear You . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

