Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 21, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 15:21-27

Day 2315:  The number one thing to God is to love Him with all of your heart – how’s that going?

Scripture:  A person who lacks judgment delights in foolishness, but by being sensible, I stay on the right path.  My plans can easily go wrong without good advice; but with many counselors, my plans succeed.  Both parties have joy in a fitting answer, and how delightful is a timely word.  When I act wisely, my life’s path leads upward, as that path keeps me away from the grave.  The Lord destroys the house of the proud, but He protects the property of widows.  The Lord detests the thoughts of the wicked, but my pure thoughts are pleasing to Him.  By being greedy, I bring trouble to my family; but by hating bribes, I will truly live!  Proverbs 15:21-27

Thoughts/questions:  People certainly delight in their belief that there is no God, but the Bible calls them fools.  But are expressions of faith foolish or should common sense dominate every decision?  We please God by faith, so we have to step out sometimes, but only under the guidance of the Holy Spirit.  If we step out on our own, we may delight in our foolishness, but God isn’t pleased.  When we follow God’s leading and step out in faith, we ARE on the right path!

A fitting answer, good advice, and a timely word – What a blessing it is to both the giver and receiver!! We’ve heard this before – ‘if I only knew then what I know now.’  Well, Proverbs teaches that someone else probably knew what we needed to know, but we were too proud to ask for help.  We must never be too proud to seek from others a fitting answer, good advice, and a timely word

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me to seek sound advice and also to become the person who can give it . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

