Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 25, 2016

Easter — Good(?) Friday!

Day 2319:  Good Friday – In retrospect, we consider its impact to be good; but at the time, not so good . . .

Scripture:  Then Pilate took Jesus and scourged Him.  John 19:1   And some began to spit at Him, and to blindfold Him, and to beat Him with their fists, and to say to Him, “Prophesy!” And the officers received Him with slaps in the face.  Mark 14:65   And they kept beating His head with a reed, and spitting at Him . . .  Mark 15:10a    And they crucified Him . . .  Mark 15:24a   

Thoughts/questions:  Good Friday has brought me the most joy and the most sorrow of ANY other day. First the joy – while growing up going to church, my knowledge and awareness of God was real, but my relationship with God was not.

At junior high camp, my heart was touched when the speaker asked if anyone wanted to respond to the love Jesus had shown by becoming a follower of Christ – I raised my candle and loudly sang, ‘I have decided to follow Jesus, no turning back, no turning back’ and I have followed and never turned back! The events of Good Friday prompted the most joyous day of my life!!!

My greatest sorrow – I only came to Jesus BECAUSE of the events of the Passion – scourging, beatings, humiliation, crucifixion. It took THAT much for me to acknowledge Him as Savior and Lord! It was all done for me – Jesus wanted this cup removed; God reminded Him that Larry wouldn’t come to Him without it; and then Jesus was willing to go through ALL of that!. Tears flowed! Joy mixed with sorrow – Good Friday – its impact on me makes it the most important day in history to me. How about you?

Suggested prayer:  Jesus, I can’t thank You enough . . .  


Leave a Reply

Categories

