Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 28, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 16:1-4

Day 2322:  May your day after Easter (and a Monday at that) contain the same joy as you experienced yesterday!

Scripture:  My heart devises its own plans, but the answer from my tongue should be from the Lord.  I may justify all of my ways, but the Lord weighs my motives.  I am to commit to the Lord everything I do, and then my plans will we established.  The Lord has made everything in my life for His own purposes; even the wicked for the day of evil.  Proverbs 16:1-4

Thoughts/questions:  Most of the individual verses in the last six chapters of Proverbs are independent of each other; however, these four teach on a similar (and deep) question –How do we view God and daily interact with Him?  Within the four verses are – plans, ways, everything I do, and everything in my life.  That pretty much covers ALL of our life!

Is God’s will elusive and hard to find, or is it so general we can pretty much do anything as long as it is not a sin?   Do we have to pray X amount of times for X amount of minutes to finally get an answer?  Is God so self-serving that our lives are only lived to fulfill His purposes?  Am I a hypocrite who just appears to be spiritual on the outside, but the real me is hidden within?  Will I find His blessings ONLY when I’m in His ‘perfect’ will?

VERY tough questions – please reread these four verses, and I will attempt to answer these questions tomorrow!  For now, commit to the Lord everything you do today!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, I want to rest in You.  Give me Your peace today . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

