Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 29, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 16:1-4

Day 2323:  Today’s devotional relates to yesterday’s, so please read it if you haven’t already.

Scripture:  My heart devises its own plans, but the answer from my tongue should be from the Lord.  I may justify all of my ways, but the Lord weighs my motives.  I am to commit to the Lord everything I do, and then my plans will be established.  The Lord has made everything in my life for His own purposes; even the wicked for the day of evil.  Proverbs 16:1-4

Thoughts/questions:  What we believe about a supreme being becomes foundational to our world-view and behavioral standard; therefore, that belief is critical to our ‘paths.’  Proverbs teaches that Jehovah God made everything in our lives for His purposes.  That appears selfish until we consider His purposes for us – eternal relationship with Him; plans for our welfare to give us hope; life abundantly; and more – His purpose is FOR us, not against us.  I’ll take that!!!

God has a special path for each of us, as He has formed us in our Mothers’ wombs, gifted us in specific ways, and also has placed corresponding desires within our hearts.  As a career advisor, I try to match students’ interests and abilities with careers.  God is our LIFE advisor who has matched our unique gifts with our life’s paths.  His will for us is for our benefit and when we commit to the Lord everything we do, He then directs our paths and our (His and my) plans will we established.

The Lord weighs our motives!  What motivates our behavior is the KEY to everything! Honestly consider and reflect on your motivation.  Jesus’ incentive was His unending love for us.  Are we ‘returning the favor’ and being motivated by love for Him?

Suggested prayer:  Lord, I give You my life; I give You my soul; I live for You alone . . . 

Leave a Reply

Categories

