Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 30, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 16:5-10

Day 2324: March is almost over??? Wow, 1/3 of 2016 is gone already!

Scripture: The Lord detests the proud in heart, so I can be assured that my pride will not go unpunished. Loving-kindness and truth atone for my sin; and by fearing the Lord I am kept from evil.  When my ways are pleasing to the Lord, He makes even my enemies to be at peace with me!  I am better off poor and godly than rich and dishonest.  I can make plans for my life, but the Lord determines my steps.  The decisions of rulers have great impact, so they must not error in judgment.  Proverbs 16:5-10

Thoughts/questions:  Pride is a recurring theme throughout the Bible.  C.S. Lewis states regarding pride, “hardly any people, except Christians, ever imagine they are guilty themselves.”  Pride is first defined as ‘satisfaction with self,’ and the world says satisfying self is an admirable goal.  However, Christ followers seek this – when God is satisfied with us, only then do we attain self-satisfaction, and because it is secondary, the glory goes to Him and not us.  Seek satisfaction, but NOT in terms of SELF first!

Hindsight is 20/20, but I’d like a crystal ball, which would tell me the result of both sides of a future decision I have to make – decision-making would be so much easier!  But the reality is that we will NEVER know what would have happened had we done something differently.  So, we have to rely on someone’s input in making our decision – ourselves, friends, advisors, or God – looks easy, but we often choose self – wrong choice!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me seek to satisfy You, not me.  Thank You for protecting me . . . 


Leave a Reply

Categories

