Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 1, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 16:17-22

Day 2326: It’s Friday!!! Fortunately, that’s NOT April Fools!

Scripture:  The path of the upright leads me away from evil, and when I guard my way, I guard my life.  Pride goes before destruction, and a haughty spirit before a fall.  It is better for me to live humbly with the oppressed than to share plunder with the proud.  When I listen to instruction, I will prosper, and I am blessed when I trust in the Lord.  I will be known for my discernment when my heart is wise; when I use pleasant words it promotes instruction.  By having understanding, it is like a fountain of life to me, but discipline is wasted on fools.  Proverbs 16:17-22

Thoughts/questions:  It’s interesting how we can guard the way of those we care about and yet sometimes forget about our own way.  We make sure our dogs stay out of the street; keep our children from playing with fire; and we might even confront a friend making bad choices.

It is also important that we humbly take care of ourselves without it ALL being about us, as pride goes before destruction.  Guard your way – are there any areas in your life where you might be headed towards the street, lighting that match, or knowingly making a bad decision?  We wouldn’t let those we love do that, so we can’t let ourselves do them either!

While babysitting two of our Gkids, these words from these Proverbs were made quite real – listen to instruction and trust in the Lord. It has been challenging to have one of the Gkids not listen to instructions. Our relationship certainly does not prosper as things have to be taken away and frustrations grow.

The other is too young to trust us as there is a lack of understanding and ability to reason, but that inability to trust makes all of her life be seen from her own perspective, so when we try to help her in ways that she can’t comprehend, her reaction surely in not a blessing.

We can excuse them because of their youth, but for us – there is no excuse – trust and obey!!!

Suggested prayer:  Father, help me to guard my way,  listen to instruction and trust in You . . .


Responses

  1. Thank you Larry for reminding me to Trust in the Lord. Your words touch my heart and help me each day….

    • Grateful and blessed to be a part of your spiritual journey, Frank!


Leave a Reply

Categories

