Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 2, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 16:23-28

Day 2327: God’s acceptance of us must be met by our acceptance of ourselves!

Scripture:  My wise heart will guide my mouth and add persuasiveness to my speech.  Pleasant words are like honey; sweet to my soul and healing to my bones. There is a way that seems right to me, but in the end, it leads to death.  A healthy appetite is good for me as my hunger drives me to keep working. Scoundrels plot evil, and their speech is like a scorching fire.  Perverse people stir up dissension, and a gossip separates intimate friends.  Proverbs 16:23-28

Thoughts/questions:  There is a way that seems right to me – the ultimate battle we face is the choice of who will sit on the throne of our lives?  Self or God.  It truly DOES seem right to me that MY decisions should reign supreme, as there is a logic to the choice that I should be the god of my life – why not?  Is anyone else more qualified?  Would my ‘supreme being’ create me and then have me live contrary to ‘who I am?’

The triune living God of the universe did just that.  His desire is that we make the ‘irrational’ human decision to dethrone self and make Him the Lord of our lives.  Even though ‘doing whatever I want’ initially seems far more liberating, it IS the way that leads to death.  Put Jesus on the throne and choose real life – both now and forever!!!

Words are a big part of this section of Proverbs. May God help us to use pleasant words which will be sweet to the spirit and body of the hearers!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me in my battle with my pride and my tongue . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

