Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 3, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 17:1-5

Day 2328: Sunday blessings!!!

Scripture:  It is better for me to only have dry crust to eat and live in peace and quiet than to live in a house full of feasting with strife.  Servants who act wisely will rule over sons who act shamefully and will share their inheritance.  The refining pot is for silver and the furnace for gold, but the Lord tests my heart.  Wrongdoers listen to wicked lips; liars pay attention to a malicious tongue.  If I mock the poor, I insult their Maker; if I rejoice at the misfortune of others, I will not go unpunished.  Proverbs 17:1-5

Thoughts/questions: If God is going to impact the lives of everyone through those who follow Him, He needs them everywhere.  Some among the rich, some among the poor; some among those who are abundantly blessed, some among those on whom misfortune has fallen.  And there are periods of time in our lives that we might end up on both ends of the spectrum.  Therefore, if we judge others by eternal factors using a human value system, God is not pleased.

When working at a low-paying Christian school, I painted during the summer, and I met someone for lunch at a fairly nice place dressed in painter attire.  The looks I received made me want to shout that I probably held a higher college degree than most of them, and they shouldn’t evaluate me on the basis of my clothes or current temporary occupation.

Those who follow Christ shouldn’t treat others in this manner, so let it be said of all of us that we treat everyone as more important than ourselves regardless of their externals.

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me to be thankful no matter what my circumstances are and to extend Your love to everyone I meet . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

