Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 5, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 17:11-16

Day 2330: May the spirit of Christmas and joy of Easter be with you each and every day! 

Scripture:  Rebellious people only seek evil, so a cruel messenger will be sent against them.  It would be better for me to meet a bear robbed of her cubs than to confront fools caught in their folly.  If I repay evil for good, evil will never leave my house.  It is like opening a floodgate when I start a quarrel, so I should drop the matter before a dispute breaks out.  I should be careful not to justify the wicked or condemn the righteous, as the Lord detests both.  What use is money to buy wisdom in the hands of fools, since they have no heart for it?   Proverbs 17:11-16

Thoughts/questions:  Rebellious people – anyone else besides me in that group? I know my tendency is to ‘oppose or defy authority’ and that is something I have to fight on a regular basis.  It doesn’t seem like I am intending to seek evil, but that definitely becomes the ultimate result of continual rebellion.

‘I’m just doing my own thing’ is a much nicer way to refer to a selfish attitude than ‘I’m being rebellious’; however, they are pretty much the same thing. God’s thing or our thing? A cruel messenger headed one’s way when they’re rebellious, or the blessings of the Almighty??? The choice is ours.

Confronting fools is surely something to avoid.  We must always consider ‘what’ we are saying, and ‘to whom’ we are saying it to.  Confront lovingly and correctly and our words are a blessing to all; get them wrong and watch out for the claws of the mother bear!!

Suggested prayer:  Father God, please help me control my words . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

