Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 7, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 17:23-28

Day 2332: Spring is here!!! Enjoy!!!

Scripture:  A wicked person will take secret bribes to pervert the ways of justice.  I have wisdom in view when I have understanding, but the eyes of a fool are on the ends of the earth.  A foolish child brings grief to their father and bitterness to their mother.  It is not good to punish an innocent person, or to punish leaders for being honest.  If I restrain my words, I have knowledge, and by being even-tempered I display understanding. Even fools are thought to be wise when they keep silent.  When I close my lips, I am considered prudent.   Proverbs 17:23-28

Thoughts/questions:  What are you looking forward to?  Proverbs states that whatever it is, wisdom should be our guide.  There is an expression, ‘don’t sweat the small stuff.’  In God’s economy, worldly goals are the small stuff, which we shouldn’t put any effort towards.  The big ‘stuff’ would be achieving the goals our Heavenly Father has for us.  Seek those, and don’t sweat the small stuff!

Having closed lips enables us to really hear what others are saying. It also gives us time to let God speak to us and give us discernment, and this discernment will enable us to appear wise when we finally speak.  Keep silent and listen for ways to help those God has put into your life.

The more words we speak, the greater the opportunity to error or say something we might regret.  Yes, silence is golden – we appear wise, we are able to listen, and we won’t say anything we need to take back.  Yes, silence has its rewards – claim them by closing those lips!

Suggested prayer:  Father, help me to view my future through the eyes of wisdom, and help me to close my lips more often . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

