Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 9, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 18:7-12

Day 2334: My only grand daughter’s 2 year old b’day party today!!! Blessed to be a Papa!

Scripture:  A fool’s mouth is their ruin, and their lips are like a snare to their soul.  Rumors of a gossip are like tasty morsels, but they go down deep into our innermost parts. If I am slack in my work, it is as bad as if I were destroying things.  The name of the Lord is a strong tower.  I can run to Him and be safe!  The rich consider their wealth as an impregnable defense, and imagine it to be a high wall of safety.  I must be careful, as a proud spirit comes before destruction; but humility comes before honor.  Proverbs 18:7-12

Thoughts/questions:  Did you hear about so and so?  These words can be spoken out of genuine concern and from a desire to be helpful, but more often than not they seem to be followed by a rumor or untruth.  And when the words are proven untrue, we simply can’t use the delete key and wipe away their memory or their impact.  If you have someone in your life who regularly does this (including yourself!), stop them before they get started.  It will be better for both of you.

Pride – considered by many to be the #1 sin.  And this pride may be in our impregnable defense, riches, which we all know can come to an immediate end! Pride is a sin which may be the root cause of all the others.  All pride is not sin, but sinful pride is an inflated ego, exalting self above all others, even God.  We ‘do life’ as a team.  God and us, and He’s the captain!

Suggested prayer:  Almighty God, remove my pride, help me to have my security in You, and may I continue to watch my words . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

