Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 11, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 18:19-24

Day 2335Praise God from Whom all blessings flow . . .

Scripture:   If I offend a brother, it is harder to make amends than to capture a strong city, and disputes are like the barred gates of the citadel.  With the fruit of my mouth my inner being will be satisfied, as the product of my lips will satisfy me.  Death and life are in the power of my tongue, and when I love it, I will eat its fruit.  He who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord.  The poor plead for mercy, but the rich answer harshly. If I have too many friends, it comes to ruin, but there is a friend that sticks closer than a brother.  Proverbs 18:19-24

Thoughts/questions:  Our words are SO important! Mother Teresa is quoted as saying, “Being unwanted, unloved, uncared for, forgotten by everybody; I think that is a much greater hunger, a much greater poverty than the person who has nothing to eat.”  Seek opportunities to let the fruit of your mouth satisfy others (and yourself!) by bringing the feeling of being wanted, loved, cared for, and remembered to someone every day!!!!

The power of my tongue – Very powerful, but can they ‘make’ something happen? No, OUR meager words do not have the creative powers of healing nor can they bring to pass something because WE spoke them. Yes, they MUST be used wisely and never with arrogance or pride! 

Too many friends – if I desire to please everyone so that they will all be my friend, I will end up in ruin!  Great goals:  1) be BEST friends with Jesus (the Friend that sticks closer than a brother; and 2) ‘know yourself, like yourself, and be yourself,’ while continually striving to improve and become an even better friend!

Suggested prayer:  Father, help my lips to bring spiritual nourishment to someone every day . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

