Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 15, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 19:16-20

Day 2339: Another TGIF – Thank God I’m Forgiven!!!

Scripture:  When I keep His commandments, I am taking care of my soul, but those who despise their own ways will die.  By being gracious to the poor, it is as if I were lending to the Lord, and He will repay me for my good deeds.  Parents are to discipline their children while there is hope, and not parent in such a way as to cause them to die.  People who exhibit uncontrolled anger will pay the price, and if I were to rescue them once, I will only have to do it again.  I am to listen to counsel and accept discipline, so that I may be wise until the end of my days.  Proverbs 19:16-20

Thoughts/questions:  Being gracious to the poor means giving. Giving of time and resources. But in today’s Proverbs, we are promised that God will repay us for our good deeds. The poor may take advantage of our gifts of time and money, but we are to focus on being gracious – giving them what they don’t deserve. Then let God take care of the rest!

Let’s begin keeping His commandments starting with the greatest – love the Lord with all our heart, soul, and mind, and our neighbor as ourselves!  And if you are a parent with children at home, your goal is NOT to be their personal friend, but to parent!!!  If you spoil them by not disciplining them, they will become a self-willed adult which YOU have allowed them to become, and their resulting behaviors will often be a form of death to you and to them.

Suggested prayer:  Almighty God, help me to daily commit my way to You as You guide me through this life . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

