Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 26, 2016

Proverbs — Proverbs 20:21-25

Day 2350:  Happy birthday to my eldest grandkid, Dakota, who turns 7 today!

Scripture:  An inheritance taken in haste at the beginning will not be blessed at the end.  I should not say, “I will repay evil with evil;” I am to wait for the Lord and He will deliver me.  Being dishonest is an abomination to the Lord, and knowingly deceiving people is not good.  My steps are ordered by the Lord, so how can I understand each thing that happens to me?  I can easily trap myself by making rash vows and not inquiring about the situation until later.  Proverbs 20:21-25 

Thoughts/questions:   I should not say, “I will repay evil with evil;” I am to wait for the Lord and He will deliver me. We tend to practice this without too much difficulty until someone does evil to a member of our family. Then the claws come out! This should not be so! This Proverb applies to ALL, even family members! May we have patience and wait for the Lord and He will deliver us.

My steps are ordered by the Lord, so how can I understand each thing that happens to me – there are times we may have difficulty understanding all the aspects regarding God and all of His attributes.  Hearing accounts of what God has done in the lives of other Christ followers can bolster our faith and help us trust when we can’t understand life’s challenges. Encourage your friends and family to share what God is doing in their lives – it will be good for each party!

Suggested prayer:  Lord, help me trust in You as You act in my life in ways I don’t understand . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

